Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
Charles Brown Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B84
Scope and Contents
Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves). Includes land signed by Henry Lee and John Tyler, items relating to "Actonplace" [Acton] English estate of William Jennings and plats of land in Albemarle County, Virginia; as well as letters of members of the Brown family. Charles Brown Papers 1792-1888, Albemarle County Virginia is available on microfilm in Swem Library’s...
Dates:
1792-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McGavock Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates:
1760-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Cities Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Dates:
1663-1980
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center